5/8 — How would a degree in a creative subject help my child to find work?

The Mollusc Dimension
4 min readFeb 15, 2020
“Squidinia” by The Mollusc Dimension. One of two pen drawings for a corporate advertising job, which paid a lot of money. It also involved being filmed at a TV studio which was surreal. I love making these images, but I prefer to use my skills for grassroots/charity work. Still, it supports the argument that illustrators can make money if they want to do corporate work.

PART FIVE of prolific, invisible artist, The Mollusc Dimension’s personal reflections on perilous journeys in a thought-provoking 8-part picture book/essay: “Flying Across The Forbidden Ocean — Health Through Creativity”.

a) Finding out there is funding and that you can apply for it

You know when you see Arts Council or Company logos on a poster or programme, that means that the artist received funding/ sponsorship. I used to think that people were awarded the funding via head-hunting. I only found out that artists apply for funding from the Arts Council in 2016. This was 12 years after I graduated with a Masters in Illustration and Art. It has only recently occurred to me that I could apply for funding. Artists I know who studied Fine Art apply for funding to do their projects. So far, I have written one proposal. I wasn’t successful. But that’s sort of like sending in ONE job application and expecting to get it.

b) Practising and valuing creative professionalism

Artists I know may have taken some time to learn about using different materials and formats. Doing so in a studio space and with the necessary equipment is useful. As Sam Matla (EDMProd) says, outputting in quantity is a way to achieve quality. By working on many different projects with different people, we learn more each time about our materials, communication, audiences etc. Learning about the pre- and post-project processes: writing proposals, applying for grants, accepting commissions; documenting work, collecting feedback and reflecting would be useful while studying. I think that a huge aspect of studying art would be to feel deeply the value one’s role and voice as an artist in a world where art is commodified but not always valued.

c) Building networks

Years later, an artist friend pointed out that networking is a major outcome of higher education. My university friends have come to my shows in the past, have bought my work and hired me for projects. I have also worked extremely hard to find visual and music collaborators and commissioned work outside of my university contacts.

3 Stills from 3 Animations by The Mollusc Dimension (2007, 2010, 2014) — Shown at a talk at Wotever DIY Film Festival (2014)

d) Resourcefulness

“Necessity is the mother of invention.” (Plato / proverb). Do resourceful parents dare to dream that their children could be as resourceful as themselves in developing their ambitions? Parents who work nine-to-five jobs or other shift work may also be cautious about self-employment. For me, the price of not having employment benefits is made up for by being my own boss.Many artists work several jobs, or work on several projects at a time, which can be viewed as resourcefulness. If you know me, you’ll probably be surprised to learn that I have worked in at least nine different customer service jobs before I went into self-employment (part-time / evenings, beginning from school-days, studying full-time).

Learning to create with whatever you have to hand is a form of problem-solving.

Recycled Paper Squid by The Mollusc Dimension. Recyclable materials sometimes inspire a piece. Or I have an idea to make something and look around the house for materials with which to make it.

Next Part Coming Soon:

6. What if we saw artists as doctors and lawyers?

There are 8 parts to this picture book/essay:

If you enjoyed my work, there are a few ways you could show your support and I would really appreciate it!

  • Hold the “handclap” icon to give me some handclaps. Login can be via a Google account
  • Purchase a track or album on Bandcamp. No account needed, just PayPal.
  • Subscribe to my music channel on YouTube or Spotify.

--

--

The Mollusc Dimension

British-born Chinese multidisciplinary project-based artist. Currently working on "The Weird & Wonderful Surviveries of Squid Horse". IG: @SquidHorseComics